ICC Ranking| ICC ODI Ranking | ICC Test & T20 Ranking

ICC Ranking| ICC ODI Ranking | ICC Test & T20 Ranking

ICC ODI Team Ranking

Teams GamesPointsRating
New Zealand424710112
South Africa495360109
Sri Lanka596064103
West Indies35309488


ICC Test Team Ranking

1South Africa212738130
4New Zealand29287599
7Sri Lanka25230792
8West Indies21210181

ICC T20 Team Ranking

Sri Lanka151891126
West Indies171994117
South Africa232548111
New Zealand192047108

ICC Ranking last time updated on 18, August, 2015.

How ICC Ranking System Work?

ICC stands for international cricket council. it is an international cricket governing body. it was formed on 15th June 1909 and today it has 105 member countries. Headquarters of ICC are in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The motto of ICC is “great sport great spirit”.

ICC is basically responsible for the organizing and governing all major international cricket tournaments, especially the Cricket World Cup. ICC also appoints referees and umpires for the cricket matches such as One Day Internationals, Twenty20 internationals and Test matches. ICC has given a proper code of conduct that has to be followed during the cricket matches. It also takes strict actions against match-fixing and corruption through its “Anti-Corruption and Security Unit” (ACSU).

How the ICC Test Ratings Work?

The ICC rating system is primarily based upon allotting points to different teams for the Test matches they have played, and then they take an average of all the Test matches that a team has played during the time period under consideration. Therefore the final rating is the mean score for the teams during that time period. The points that are awarded to the teams count on the strength of their opposition.

A team when wins against a stronger opposition it counts more than a win which is against a weaker opposition. The oppositions’ strength is driven by their “rating points” which they have at the start of the series, and they are updated when the series end, not after the end of every Test. When a team wins a series it is counted as an additional Test match won.

If some team wins a particular series by 2-1, then the points they will be assigned will be counted as a 3-1 win. A team on winning a test match gets one point, if the match is a draw them it gets 0.5 points and teams get an additional point if they win a series. The method used to calculate the “rating points” in the series count on the comparative strengths of both the teams that are playing the series. If the difference of “rating points” between both teams is less than 40 at the beginning of the series, then each of the teams gets; The series points of the team are multiplied by fifty points which are more than the rating points of the opposition, also the series points of the opposition are multiplied by fifty points which are less than the rating points of the opposition.

If both the teams have a difference of 40 or more rating points, at the start of the series then the team which is stronger gets; The series points of both the teams are multiplied by ten more points than the own ratings of the team, also the series points of the opposition are multiplied by ninety points less than the own ratings of the team.

The team which is weaker gets; the series points of the team multiplies by ninety points more than the rating of the team, also the  series points of the opposition multiplies by ten points less than their team’s rating. Now the score the team has scored in the series is then added up to their previous total “ratings points”, and then divided by the total matches played plus the series played by the team in order to get an average score which is basically team’s “rating points”. ICC only governs international cricket matches and not the domestic matches held in its member countries.